Corona school closure + substitute teacher = supreme disrespect - ProTeacher Community

Home Join Now Search My Favorites
Help

The VENT

Corona school closure + substitute teacher = supreme disrespect

>

Aillya

Corona school closure + substitute teacher = supreme disrespect
Old 03-13-2020, 02:28 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

I am sort of at a boiling point right now and I need to get a lot of #### off my chest. I feel like I should preface this by noting that I have nothing against individual teachers and staff members, but it's going to come across like I hate everyone, and for that, I'm just sorry in advance. If you don't feel mentally prepared to read something rather scathing, maybe hit the back button!

Okay. Hi. Hello. I substitute teach for a living. Whenever you're sick and need someone to cover your class, I'm there making sure your students are safe, protected, and kept on task so you can deal with what you have to deal with and come back without being too far behind. I enjoy my job and I take pride in doing it well. I'm requested often, and even though the higher demand for my services doesn't translate to higher pay than anyone else, I still take pride in doing a good job.

Today, my county, despite having no cases of corona, just decided to close all of its schools for three weeks. Teachers were alerted via email as soon as the news came out; substitutes were, of course, left in the dark. Apparently the school had been planning for something like this all week, which was why the work for this week had been dry as hell, but the sub coordinator couldn't even send out a mass email with a heads up or anything. I knew that there was a possibility of it from the news, but until today, nobody had even hinted to me that we would close. I found out today on my way out of the payroll department, from someone who happened to mention it to me in passing.