The VENT

Quitting in the middle of the year?

>

wondering12

wondering12

Quitting in the middle of the year?
Old 09-26-2012, 07:15 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

I have been teaching 3rd grade bilingual for the past 9 years. I have another profession that has nothing to do with teaching. I enjoyed teaching for several years but we all know what teaching has become nowadays.

I am ready to go back to the normal world and get treated like a normal person in the professional world. I might have an opportunity to go back to my loved profession around March 2012.

How will it affect me if I quit in the middle of the year in each of these 3 scenarios?

1. applying for a normal job that has nothing to do with teaching (I am assuming in this case it won't affect me)

2. applying for teaching positions in community colleges (yes, I have a master's degree in something that has nothing to do with teaching. I am assuming it won't affect me either since they go by semesters or quarters, but I still wonder if quitting in the middle of the school year will raise a red flag)

3. going back to teaching elementary after a few years (I have to be realistic and if my plan doesn't work and I find myself needing a job in the future I still want to have the option to teach elementary. I think in this case it will affect me, can I just put in the future application that I taught until June 2012? Should I stay until the end of the year 2013 just to have that extra option in my life to go back to teaching elementary? which I hope I NEVER have to go back to this weird world)

Life is about opportunities and I don't want to make a mistake and close some doors that I might need in the future. I hope you can give your advice in each of the 3 scenarios.

I really wish I could quit tomorrow!!! (I am actually thinking about quitting in January)