Are we the only ones to loose an income? - ProTeacher Community

Home Join Now Search My Favorites
Help

Teachers' Lounge

Are we the only ones to loose an income?

>

knitting987!

Are we the only ones to loose an income?
Old 04-20-2020, 09:10 AM

It sounds like most are well off and relaxed on here. Iím a sub and my husband is a nurse without much work. So I feel a tiny bit alone. I donít think people get me on here right. Most teachers still get their pay. So just wanted to clarify if Iím feeling quite down.

knitting987! is offline   Reply With Quote

sonoma

Old 04-20-2020, 09:16 AM

I'm a tutor and I am not getting paid. I have been able to pick up a little money tutoring on zoom but not enough to even pay my electric bill. Also, no spouse so I am living off my savings.

I understand how you feel. I feel some people on this board do not. I do feel bad when they are chatting about buying nonessentials. I have posted previously about the need to save money. Teachers who are getting paid now seem to think their paycheck is going to go on indefinitely. That is not going to happen.
sonoma is offline   Reply With Quote

LucyDoo

Old 04-20-2020, 09:20 AM

i am working as a teacher still but my husband was furloughed, so we are feeling it. and we are not buying nonessentials, no matter what it does to the stock market. we have to pay our mortgage and car payment before anything else.
LucyDoo is offline   Reply With Quote

amiga13

Old 04-20-2020, 09:22 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by knitting
So just wanted to clarify if I’m feeling quite down.
I’m sorry you’re feeling down, but you need to realize that many of us are feeling down. Like you, I am suffering both feeling down and a serious financial problem. I also miss my adult children tremendously and struggle with living alone.