Are we really going back to actual School in August in Texas? - ProTeacher Community

Home Join Now Search My Favorites
Help

The VENT

Are we really going back to actual School in August in Texas?

>

Bobbies

Are we really going back to actual School in August in Texas?
Old 07-06-2020, 01:39 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

I was a teacher for many years and then retired. I am now substituting in a completely different District and town, so I don't have any longtime friends around here that I could kind of ask. My question is this. I live in a large city of 300,000 people. We were told that school would be starting the second week of August. We have seen a huge increase in coronavirus positives and our County. In the city, we were stuck it three deaths from the virus until a few days ago when it went up till 7, then 9, then 10, then 12 and now 20. I was wondering if anybody especially in Texas do you think we are going to go back into the classroom as normal, meaning before March before those of us who substitutes had to get on unemployment and got laid off or not? Our district put out a letter a few weeks ago stating that there will be doing half and half, meaning half of the classes are going to be virtual classrooms with kids at home and they would switch out days. Monday Wednesday Friday one day and the other two days will be spent at school for those who were virtual learning at home. With the huge increase in coronavirus cases we are experiencing along with the deaths, do you think that we will be able to go back to school and just five weeks?

Last edited by Bobbies; 07-06-2020 at 06:48 PM..
Bobbies is offline   Reply With Quote

SpecialEdly

Old 07-06-2020, 04:00 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

Who knows, but they need to make a dang decision already!
SpecialEdly is offline   Reply With Quote

Risa

You aren't the first to ask
Old 07-06-2020, 05:09 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #3