Career Decisions

Letters of Recommendation advice

>

CA Educator

CA Educator

Letters of Recommendation advice
Old 03-17-2016, 02:25 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

I am an elementary teacher with 14 years in the classroom. I currently commute an hour to my school, however, I am looking for a teaching job closer to my home and family. My problem is, do I let my administrator know now that I am in the market for a new job and therefore ask for a letter of recommendation now...or do I get letters from other people, and if so, who? I need current letters of recommendation for the application process and don't know if I should inform, then ask my administrator or not because then the cat's outta the bag!

K12ESLteacher

It depends
Old 03-30-2016, 10:17 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

If you are applying to jobs right now, and are required to provide letters of recommendation, then you might as well inform your admin that you will finish current school year and due to personal reasons will have to relocate and find a job closer to home, which is why you would very much appreciate if P or AP wrote you a letter of rec. However, if it is not so urgent, you can wait till the last week of school to inform your admin of your decision to relocate and find a new job. There are, however, some people you may ask for a letter of rec. For example, you can ask a literacy/match coach if you have one who has been working with you closely. You can ask a few from the teacher leaders/collaborative teachers you worked closely with. If a superintendent knows you well/observed you teach, he/she can also write you a letter of rec.

Best of luck!
K12ESLteacher is offline   Reply With Quote

basketball777

Old 04-02-2016, 10:06 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #3