Help

Career Decisions

5 grade changes in 5 years

>

Jayhawk74

5 grade changes in 5 years
Old 05-06-2016, 09:40 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

What the heck! I've been teaching for 13 years. I feel I'm a strong teacher. I work at a small school, k-5. I've desired kindergarten since college. I was originally pulled from another school with the promise of teaching kindergarten when it became available. I taught second grade for 2 years. Then volunteered to move to first. I stayed there for 8 years. I loved it! I completely built the successful program. Then the kindergarten position opened. I jumped on it. It lasted a year. Another teacher was asked to move to Kindergarten because she was not looked upon as someone that could handle the grade level she was assigned. I was then moved to second. That lasted a year because of school numbers. I was moved back to first. That lasted a year again because of school numbers. I am now being moved to third!!!! How am I supposed to "perfect my craft"? I am sick and tired of changing grade levels. Uggghhh

Jayhawk74 is offline   Reply With Quote

megann831

Old 05-24-2016, 05:51 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

maybe because you've volunteered to move in the past they think you want to, or it could be a 1st in 1st out thing. I don't think staying in one grade level necessarily makes you perfect your craft, it could be a way to get dull. In my school we loop every year. I stay with the same group 6-8. I wouldn't say I like it, but I don't think it's uncommon to change.
megann831 is offline   Reply With Quote

SusanTeach

change
Old 05-24-2016, 06:55 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #3

Does everyone else move around as much as you? I think it was a bad move on the administrator's part in taking you from K just because someone else couldn't handle another grade. She needed to be on a plan of improvement - not moved to a different grade when there wasn't an opening.