Career Decisions

Change Jobs 4-5 Weeks in?

>

MsTeacherLady

Change Jobs 4-5 Weeks in?
Old 09-07-2016, 05:16 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

Hello everyone,

I know this is epic and I'm sorry. I've tried to break it down for you.

I hope that you can help me make a decision that I feel is coming up for me in the near future. I'm just not sure what to do. I've written and rewritten this posting several times and at this point I am just going to post and hope I can clarify as needed.

Please read the posting below if you want the full story, but the gist of my question is this:

Short Version:

If I quit my current position in a public charter school (linked with a school district, not a company) to go work for an online school is that going to completely derail my career?

Long Version:

I have an M.Ed in C/I and Ed Leadership. Eventually I'd like to be a VP or maybe a Curriculum Coach.

I have 10+ years of ELA experience, most of it at a high performing public charter school associated with a high performing district. My family had to move because my husband's job transferred him. I've moved to a high performing public charter school in a lower performing district.

I don't want to make a poor decision and have a black mark against my record...but I feel like I've been mislead.

I was hired with the impression that this school wanted to add in novel reading to challenge their students more and this is where I excel. I love reading novels with my students, I love digging into character motivation and discussing how the conflicts influence the outcome...all the stuff that makes teaching ELA WONDERFUL!

In my interview I made it very clear that this is what I wanted to incorporate and the principal was on board, he was excited. He said that he couldn't wait to "shake up" the ELA Department and wanted to see what I could do.