Help

Fourth Grade

Everyday math/differentiation

>

Fminus

Everyday math/differentiation
Old 09-23-2010, 06:17 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

Hi. I am a fourth grade teacher that has been using Everyday Math for several years. Even though it is not recommended, we were teaching using flexible grouping. We had a high, 2 middle, and a low group. This year we stopped that and now we are all wondering how to do this in our class. Does anyone have any suggestions? Do you use Math Cafe? I have students that can't add 7 + 4 without using their fingers as well as students that can do a mad minute in 30 seconds. Any help would surely be appreciated. Thanks.

Fminus is offline   Reply With Quote

Kare3A

I can't help, but...
Old 09-23-2010, 05:05 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

I'm curious as to why you aren't doing flexible groupings any more. My team would love to have math groups, but our principal doesn't approve. We have a meeting coming up with an EDM consultant, and we will be asking her about this. I really like EDM, but I feel the low students get lost, and I feel like I"m holding back my top kids.
Kare3A is offline   Reply With Quote

LuvAGoodBook

some ideas
Old 09-23-2010, 05:25 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #3

One thing you group your children within your own class. You can have your high children stay for Math message and follow ups. Then when it comes to the journal pages tell them to do them on their own for the lesson. If they do not get it and are unsure then come back to the lesson and follow along with you. If they are totally comfortable and finish the journal pages they move on to the enrichment pages.

The children who are really low can work with you during small group and also use the remedial pages.