National Board Certification

Why can't we be happy for one another?

>

why try?

why try?

Why can't we be happy for one another?
Old 02-10-2013, 12:12 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

Is it because we work in a system that doesn't encourage excellence but instead everyone has to be treated the same? I really dislike the way the systems are set up for teachers. Just yesterday I received my National Board Certificate in the mail (and it is HUGE) and I can't share my happiness with anyone. The same as when I finished my masters. Apparently we are suppose to help our kids learn and become better citizens but when we have a big accomplishment we are just being showy. UUGGHH!!! Really tired of the mentality that "we are all the same" because the reality is that we aren't. Anyone else experience this?

mes

Old 02-10-2013, 12:16 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

So sorry, but I must admit that I have feelings similar to yours at times. For whatever reason it seems to be something that is not mentioned, let alone celebrated. I'll be happy for you though.:-)
mes is offline   Reply With Quote

dee

Agree
Old 02-10-2013, 02:44 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #3

But I am so excited you got your certificate! We had the huge storm, so hopefully I'll get it this week!

It will have to hang in my home office.
dee is offline   Reply With Quote

fiona1

Achievement
Old 02-12-2013, 11:14 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #4

I agree- I think it encourages a system of mediocrity and is very much part of what is wrong with schools and overall achievement of students. I have been told I am an "overachiever" by some colleagues- what the heck is that? You are an "achiever"- people who discourage that are suspect in my book. Congratulations!!
fiona1 is offline   Reply With Quote

jks

these days
Old 02-12-2013, 02:21 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #5