Help

Classroom Management

my observation wasn't great

>

Newbielibro

my observation wasn't great
Old 04-28-2017, 05:50 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

I am new to the classroom this semester (I used to be a librarian).

I just recently had my first formal observation. And there was an area that was marked as potentially needs improvement or unsatisfactory. I'm feeling discouraged. My lesson mostly went well, I thought. The set up part took too long (I didn't think it would take students as long as it did), but we got everything done. I had a few students who didn't want to work, but I insisted that it was important and they did do it. My evaluate noted that, so I am hoping it isn't terrible.

But I am nervous. I just got the feedback today and haven't had my meeting yet. What if my overall eval isn't good? I am just a temporary teacher for the semester. I really want to do a good job and progress, but I am feeling uncertain now.

I had a really rough time with students acting up when I started, but things improved dramatically after a quarter (time consistency, some tweaks to my management plan), and are not where they would be ideally, but are at a decent place now.

I am feeling pretty discouraged because I have worked so hard to get to this point this semester-- I was finally feeling less overwhelmed and like I might end up being truly good in a classroom in a couple of years. But now I am thinking I am just going to be a sub or temp for years and not build up those skills and it is exhausting.

Newbielibro is offline   Reply With Quote

Munchkins

Be easy on yourself!
Old 04-28-2017, 05:56 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #2