Help

Magnolia Room

How do you explain this to students?

>

DrivingPigeon

How do you explain this to students?
Old 08-06-2010, 02:23 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

Ok, bear with me-I'm new to the responsive classroom approach. I have owned the Morning Meeting Book and The First Six Weeks of School for years, but I'm just reading them this summer for the first time. I would really like to try these ideas out in my classroom this year.

From my understanding, a responsive classroom does not have a set "behavior management system"-is that correct? I'm talking about flip cards, red/green/yellow lights, etc. This past year I had "behavior folders," which contained a calendar and a key. Whenever a child did something inappropriate they had to write the corresponding behavior from the key onto their calendar (a triangle meant "I will keep my hands to myself"). With a responsive classroom approach, I will not need these "systems," correct?

My next question is, how do you explain everything to the children? I teach kindergarten, and they are so literal. I'm worried about them feeling like our classroom is a free-for-all if they don't have pre-determined consequences for inappropriate behavior (such as sitting out during play time). During the 2nd week of school we make our class rules together, and then talk about the behavior management system. How do you explain a responsive classroom approach to 5-year-olds?

Also, how do you find time to speak with children about what they did and what their consequence should be? Kindergartners are so needy, that it's difficult to find time to speak 1 on 1 with a child.

If you have some posts or articles to refer me to, I would really appreciate it! I can't afford to purchase more books this summer, so free resources would be great.

sunaustin

Old 08-08-2010, 04:56 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #2