Help

Special Education

Phonics vs Edmark Reading

>

dhteach

Phonics vs Edmark Reading
Old 09-01-2012, 07:00 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

I have a new group of sped students in my 4th grade life skills classroom. They have been trying to learn phonics for at least 2 years that I know of. They do not recognize their names, the alphabet, colors, or numbers. After what amount of time do I switch from trying to teach phonics to teaching Edmark reading program? It's basically a memorization program but I'm not sure they will understand it. I haven't worked with students at this academic level before and would appreciate any and all suggestions! Thanks!

dhteach is offline   Reply With Quote

dee

It's okay
Old 09-02-2012, 03:19 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

I used an older version with a student and did not really like it for him. The aspects of the program that emphasize repetition and whole word work may work well with your students.

I am a certified Wilson teacher, and the rules of phonics are extremly challenging for students with low cognition. Life skills kids need life skills reading ability: names, safety signs, bathroom signs, etc. I would really focus on these while continuing to teach letters. Focus on the letters in their names.

I just think of my friend's son who is 23 and low cog. He can "read" signs that he is familiar with such as WalMart, McDonalds, etc. He can "read" which bathroom to go into. He can write his name while naming the letters. He did not learn all his letters until high school. I don't think he ever progressed beyond level 1.3 in th Wilson program- he could say the sound of letters but blending sounds was very difficult. Too much to remember in their short term memory. Even now when he is in the mood, he will spell a word he is looking at such as r-e-d and say red.