Help

Special Education

classroom logistics

>

kbach

classroom logistics
Old 09-14-2012, 12:47 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

I teach in a primary class for students with intellectual disabilities. This is my second year at primary (although last year I still had 3rd graders) so really this is my first year with very immature young ones. What do you do to keep with very little ones busy while working with reading groups? My groups are about 20 minutes long but that is still too long for their attention spans.

Also, what do you usually do with them in reading groups? One can identify some letters but for the most part, that's it. The others do not know letters or sounds. I am looking for new ideas for hand on things that will hold their attention.

kbach is offline   Reply With Quote

Miller

Old 09-14-2012, 05:28 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

you have to teach them other activities

I haven't gotten that far yet but I plan to do Earobics, starfall, spellingcity.com, and xtramath.org as a computer center. I need to teach one website at a time and assign them one.

I just got a bunch of things I ordered from orientaltrading.com. I plan to use the letter identification mat with tall, small, and below letters and they can sort. I will have them spell their word wall or spelling words with wikki sticks or playdoh.

if you have pictures they can do sequencing then write about it
Miller is offline   Reply With Quote

kbach

They are much lower than that
Old 09-14-2012, 04:16 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #3

I do have some that can do the different computer programs but 6 that absolutely can't. They will open everything on the computer and lock it up. I've been working with them on it since school started. They can't write, at all. They can't even draw a straight line. They can't stay on task long enough to sort. They can do it if someone is there to keep them focused but once on their own they will destroy the materials.

Miller

Old 09-14-2012, 05:20 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #4