Help

Special Education

No longer eligible?

>

SusanTeach

No longer eligible?
Old 04-08-2016, 05:59 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

I'm a regular ed teacher (3rd grade) with 7 sped children. 1 of them has an reevaluation meeting on Monday. The sped teacher told me he will no longer be ruled in reading due to his numbers. They need to be 23 points and they're only 11. He will only be ruled in language due to speech. Does that mean his speech teacher will give his language lessons?

I'm a veteran teacher, but I'm new to sped. How do you suddenly become ineligible? Why do they retest? Without going into more detail, I can't even imagine him in a regular classroom on a daily basis.

Please enlighten me on all that you know. How does this happen?

SusanTeach is offline   Reply With Quote

GraceKrispy

Old 04-08-2016, 06:13 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

I'm guessing your district uses discrepancy and the sped teacher is saying that his discrepancy between reading scores and cognitive score is now 11 pt instead of the 23 that is required under your model. I know some districts are still using the (antiquated) discrepancy model to qualify for learning disability, but I'm surprised to hear they are applying the same criteria on reevaluations. Isn't the point of special ed to try to teach kids at their level with intense services above and beyond what can be offered in the general ed classroom? If so, aren't we hoping to minimize the gap? But if he is making that progress with sped support and we take that away from him, then how do we expect him to continue to close the gap/make this great progress?