Career Decisions

What would you do?

>

helptodecide

helptodecide

What would you do?
Old 08-17-2018, 05:36 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

So I signed out due to confidentiality. I have a lot of teaching experience and was moved to a new building within the district and different class. I was not happy about it. I know it happens. Anyway, I also got offered a virtual teaching position making the same amount of money. I see pros to both and cons to both. The virtual position is still an office environment. It is for 7th grade special ed. I am doing 4th grade special ed.

What would you do?

Haley23

Old 08-17-2018, 06:07 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

Would you be okay with not interacting with students face to face? As part of the position, what kind of responsibility/accountability do you have as far as student data goes? How is your evaluation done? I would be concerned that it would be a lot harder to motivate kids to pay attention/do work etc. when they can simply get up and walk away from the computer screen, especially given that a number of kids are already in that environment because they couldn't handle regular school (I know there are exceptions, before someone jumps all over that).

I've personally always thought that online teaching would be very depressing and isolating. Most of the time I like having somewhere to get dressed up and go to every day, and I like interacting with my students. Maybe some of that piece is better if you're still going to an office and presumably at least seeing other adults every day.

Is the virtual school a charter? I'd look very carefully into the job requirements (most charters require a lot more work/time from their teachers without giving more money) and think about the job security. Make sure you're not required to be "on call" to your students at all hours. Is the position secure if enrollment drops-keeping in mind that charters can let teachers go mid-year.