Pros and cons for relocating out of NY state for a teaching job? - ProTeacher Community

Home Join Now Search My Favorites
Help

The Job Search

Pros and cons for relocating out of NY state for a teaching job?

>

sandycheeks

Pros and cons for relocating out of NY state for a teaching job?
Old 10-04-2018, 05:19 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

I'm an experienced teacher from NY but I worked in a private school for some time. I haven't been able to get a permanent position in the public schools and am having difficulty foreseeing how I will survive financially in my area if I don't get one soon. DO I wait it out another few years in NY, applying to hundreds of jobs and not getting any interviews? It's so competitive.

Or, should relocation be a real consideration?

Has anyone relocated short-term or long term..what has been your experience?

sandycheeks is offline   Reply With Quote

Haley23

Old 10-04-2018, 06:21 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

I moved from OH to CO right out of college. When I graduated (2010), the job market was AWFUL in OH. There were literally like 5,000 people applying for each job. I might as well have been trying to win the lottery. I figured if I hated it, it was ten months of my life, and I could come back to OH with a year of experience on my resume.

I didn't know anyone and had never even been to CO prior to accepting a job here. My first school was an absolutely wonderful place to start a career. But it was very isolated (mountain town) and I absolutely hated living there. I moved to Denver after my 2nd year of teaching and have worked in much more difficult schools here, but like where I'm living WAY better.

At the risk of sounding super cheesy, I do think the experience of having to make it a brand new location all by myself made me a much better person. Expanded my world view, if you will. Made me get out of my comfort zone and "find myself."