Help

Special Education

Aide thatís frustrated former teacher

>

jengirlmama2

Aide thatís frustrated former teacher
Old 12-13-2018, 07:55 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

I have an aide thatís a frustrated former teacher. I am nearing the end of my first year as a SPED teacher. Now, I have approx. 23 or more years under my belt of teaching children. I spent about 8 years in early childhood some working in 2 and 3 star centers some motherís day out, and being an assistant director and a director. 3 years as a music teacher grades prek-8th 3 years as a substitute teacher in public schools pretty regularly high school- prek. Many subjects, about 8 years as a first grade sunday school teacher, a gymboree teacher, vacation bible school teacher, and I directed 5 performing groups ages 3-12 for 3 years I also worked in sales for several years. I worked for a multi-level marketing company for 7 part time. To me dealing with kids is like sales sometimes. Will you be paying with cash or check? Are you going to lay down on the mat or the bean bag? Guess what! We are going to play a fun math game!! Guess what weíve figured out how to get you out of debt 10 years earlier!! I also have 2 kids of my own with IEPís who have been going to OT for 4 years. They have ADHD and anxiety and sensory issues and they are stubborn. I have had many different special needs kids in childcare and in classrooms that I subbed in and in church. Then I was a special ed. Teacherís aide for a year and a half before adding Severe and profound MD to my certification. I say this to mean I am not coming into this completely green and naive. The other week I was nearly rated highly effective on my eval even though my first for this school year was low because she came in at the end of the day when I was no longer teaching. Kids were done with lessons and getting changed and playing in centers and I was working at my desk. Since I had to move my plan period. Long story she said I have to ask her first. Anyway th