Special Education

Extreme Paras

>

Onedge

Onedge

Extreme Paras
Old 01-29-2019, 05:22 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

I am a new teacher and have had a horrible time with the paras in my room. I have bent over backwards trying to please them and they continue to be angry about every little thing. If I change something about the room, even move a table, they get upset. They constantly rant about me to other staff in the school in front of the kids, sometimes using profanity. Any training I give them is responded to with attitude, refusing to talk to me or the kids for a day or two, or deliberate refusal to comply. They try to challege my curriculum and teaching choices. They overstep and go directly to the therapists about certain kids or try to make treatment decisions about them. Trying to address issues with them makes it worse. I have to do my job and theirs because I can’t trust them with anything. They try to get me in trouble for “wasting lamination”- I’m really not using that much, especially considering I’ve had to basically create my own curriculum. If I give them a task that should take 20 minutes, it takes hours.