Special Education

What sped position is right for me?

>

JJJ2

JJJ2

What sped position is right for me?
Old 02-06-2019, 05:58 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

I am currently a resource teacher in an elementary school. I am beginning to feel burnt out and am not sure if this is the right position for me. I have over 30 kids on my caseload and most of them have social/emotional service needs. Many of these students are highly disruptive and many chronically non-compliant and violent. I am having difficulty staying on top of creating engaging lessons for them each day, tracking the mountains of data needed to keep accurate accounts of students' progress, support gen ed teachers to support students more intentionally, supervise and create lessons for my paras, manage disruptive behaviors throughout the day, attend meetings most days of the week, and stay in compliance with all the documentation in various bips, ieps, etc. I feel like I will never be able to catch up with everything I am supposed to do (after coming in each weekend and staying late everyday). I am wondering if anyone has advice for other positions in the sped field that may be a little more manageable? Are their any former elementary resource teachers that have found more bliss elsewhere in different positions? Are their any more outside the box work options for someone with a masters in special education that may not be a traditional teaching/case management position? Thanks for any help and guidance that you can offer!

Haley23

Old 02-06-2019, 08:02 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

I've only taught resource and can't imagine doing anything else within sped. Have you considered trying a different school/district to see if things are any better?