Help

Special Education

Taking over a caseload from a previous teacher

>

musicmeg222

Taking over a caseload from a previous teacher
Old 02-08-2019, 09:10 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

A special ed teacher left her current position during the school year, as she had to move out of state. I recently interviewed for this opportunity and was offered the position earlier today. I am a first year teacher and will attend orientation very soon, but I'm curious about a few things.

I have been thinking about some questions I already have but also planning out many things within the classroom. I believe this position would be much easier if I were to start out fresh at the beginning of the year on my own, but instead, I'm taking on a position from a previous teacher at the beginning of the year.

How does this work with IEP's and documentation? I understand any new information added or changes made are my responsibility with my name on them, but I'm just not sure how the completion of IEP's will work since I'm taking over for another teacher.

Also, does anyone have any tips or suggestions for first year special education teachers? Anything is appreciated.

Thanks!

musicmeg222 is online now   Reply With Quote

Tsy2013

Old 02-09-2019, 06:49 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

You will take over IEPs all year. Rather it be from new students, students moving in or out. I suggest read each IEP and check your date to make sure your in compliance.
Tsy2013 is offline   Reply With Quote

whatever

Best case scenario
Old 02-09-2019, 07:17 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #3

someone will be available to help you with your first several IEPs-a director, a mentor, a coworker... someone. First thing, make a master calendar and write the IEP date and reeval date of every student in your caseload on there. There are some dates (IEPs) that only need a few weeks notice and others (Evals/reevals) that need much longer.