ARCHIVE

Returning to teaching

>

anon4this

anon4this

Returning to teaching
Old 08-06-2008, 11:28 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

I am wanting to return to teaching after being a stay at home mom for the past 9 years. I have 3 kids(ages 9, 7, and 5). My youngest starts Kindergarten this year so I'll have the days to myself which I haven't had in a very long time.

However I am finding it very hard to return to teaching. First off I live in a very competitive area(Houston, Texas) where if you don't know someone its hard to get a job. I only have 1 year experience. I taught for a year as a 1st grade teacher at an inner city school. I got that job right after student teaching because of knowing people in the school. Since then the principal and assistant principal I worked for have retired. I've lost touch with teachers at the school(most don't work there anymore anyway). Its been a long time since I've been a teacher.

So references are going to be an issue since I've been out of the classroom so long and haven't worked in 9 years. My thought is to substitute teach this year. My district only requires 2 references for subs. But my references are from volunteer jobs at my church such as when I taught Sunday School and Vacation Bible School. My two references are the director and assistant director of christian education at my church. I no longer have work or professional references.

I'm afraid I'll be at a disadvantage to those who are fresh out of college and know people in the schools. I have loved being a SAHM, but am afraid that my time as a SAHM has hurt me because I no longer know any principals, ect. Hopefully I can do a good job subbing this year and get to know people that way. But still I am discouraged. I also worry that because I've been out of the classroom so long it will be harder for me to get a full-time teaching job because my 1 year of experience was a long time ago.

mes

Don't give up
Old 08-06-2008, 12:09 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #2