What to wear? - ProTeacher Community

uponthehill

What to wear?
Old 08-18-2008, 10:14 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

Hello,

I am new and welcome any input you all have. I am a first year lead teacher at our local nursery school. Ages 3 and 4 together. I am wondering what you all wear while teaching. I am in a building where ours is the only classroom, I am the only teacher with a differnt parent helper each day. So do I dress up to work with preschoolers or wear nice jeans and a nice functional top? I really don't mind either way but have wondered what other wear while working in a potentially messy environment.

Thanks!

uponthehill is offline   Reply With Quote

lizapest

Old 08-18-2008, 10:44 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

Well, first go to your supervisor/director/principal ask if there is a dress code. (there may be a no jeans rule)

What do you clean with? We use a bleach and water disinfectant and it can be murder on clothes, so I tend to wear nice, but not expensive clothes.
Wear clothing that you can move around in (nothing too short or too tight)
I know of some staff who wear skirts, but I could never do that because of the sitting on the floor (I always ended up standing on my skirt)
I also know of some staff that wear an apron over their clothing to protect them when doing cleaning or messy activities. You can get very nice teacher-y ones.
Remember that your shoes need to be very comfortable.
lizapest is offline   Reply With Quote

treetoad

Old 08-18-2008, 11:49 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #3

look into it because the trend in this area is scrubs for preschool and daycare centers
treetoad is offline   Reply With Quote

lizapest

Old 08-18-2008, 01:22 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #4

I can't get into the scrubs thing... Xp
It looks out of place in a school environment and does not send the right message about what goes on in a pre-K environment.

Ruby07

Old 08-18-2008, 02:09 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #5