How Do I teach a novel unit? - ProTeacher Community

ACoolTeach123

How Do I teach a novel unit?
Old 08-26-2008, 07:46 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

This is my first year teaching a higher level group in Reading. Typically novels are done with this group. I'm a third year 3rd grade teacher and have used the basal as a guide in previous years. What kinds of activities should I do? Where do I start? How can I help increase their comprehension? I have a few ideas but I'd love some help!

ACoolTeach123 is offline   Reply With Quote

bensonsmom

Maybe an idea...
Old 08-26-2008, 08:01 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

I taught novel units to 5th and 6th graders. The way I did this was I either read a few chapters aloud or had them silent read the chapters. If you have a class set both options are available. If you only have a copy, then you'll have to read it. Here is my weekly example:
Day 1: Read ch. 1-3; assign various vocabulary (could be new words found in the book that they don't know or parts of the book or story)
Day 2: Small group discussion; put kids in groups of 6-7 and pull them aside to "discuss in detail" the chapters read. The students still at their desks will need some type of work. (This could relate to the novel or just to a reading class)
Day 3: Read ch. 4-6; assign vocabulary
Day 4: Small group discussion and seat work (they could work on that vocabulary)
Day 5: whole group discussion about ch. 1-6 and maybe a short quiz or question sheet.

When I did small group discussion I had read the chapters ahead of time and found questions I wanted to ask before I met with the groups. I wrote the questions on post-its and put them on the page the answer was on. I asked questions that used comprehension and also questions like... Which sentence is a metaphor, simile, etc.