6th grade math and science routine - ProTeacher Community

littlepig17

6th grade math and science routine
Old 06-30-2006, 10:14 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

Hi! I'm new to 6th-just hired yesterday. I won't get to meet with my principal again until she gets my fingerprints back. I'm freaking out though. I used to be 3rd. I was wondering if anyone would like to share their Math or Science class routines? Do your students have notebooks for notetaking? I taught 7th math on a temporary contract, so I'm not too worried, but that was awhile ago and I've never done Science. I would like to make the classes very exciting. I'd also like to do a lot of experiments-if possible. Anyway, I'm just wondering if the students use notebooks, how you grade assignments/tests, how you pass the homework back or get it corrected, what the daily routine is. I was also wondering what kind of behavior system you use. I have a behavior chart I used in 3rd, but it might be a bit babyish for 6th. Any help would be greatly appreciated. I've read the posts and got some ideas. I'll probably be more at ease when I get to see my classroom, the textbooks, and meet the other 6th grade teachers. Anyway, now I'm beginning to ramble. Thanks for the help!! Amy

Last edited by littlepig17; 06-30-2006 at 10:51 AM..
littlepig17 is offline   Reply With Quote

beckadoo1

new at 6th
Old 07-02-2006, 05:29 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #2