How to Deal With A Lying Student - ProTeacher Community

Snoopy 07

How to Deal With A Lying Student
Old 09-20-2008, 04:51 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

Hello!

I am a first year teacher and I'm having trouble with one particular 4th grade student. This student has a major problem with lying about anything and everything. When this particular student gets in trouble, she always has an excuse for it. She has already forged her mother's signature on a paper I had her send home, lied to my face, as well as lying to two other teachers (those are just some of the things she's done so far)... and it's only been the 3rd week of school!

I've spoken to her mother about this. She wasn't much help because she says that that's just the way she is and she can't really do anything about it.

It's just frustrating that so many incidents have occurred in these first weeks of school, and I know it's only going to get worse. Does anyone have any suggestions to help me out with this student?

Snoopy 07 is offline   Reply With Quote

Carlimichelle

Me too!
Old 09-20-2008, 06:52 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

I need help in this area too. I have a little girl who lies to me all the time. She lives with her grandmother, who is at her wits end with three grandchildren living with her full time.

Mom lives in Texas and is not in the picture. Last week she told my whole class that her mom was the only person in Houston to survive hurricane Ike and was on the news celebrating. My poor kids kept coming up asking about all the people who died during the hurricane and how Sally* was so lucky because her mom was the only survivor. I finally had to have a meeting with the class to explain that the Hurricane was very devastating but there were very few deaths involved because people were prepared and/or evacuated.