Sunshine/Social Committee - ProTeacher Community

Much more

Much more

Sunshine/Social Committee
Old 10-19-2008, 12:24 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

Okay- I'm a REGULAR poster but signed out due to the nature of this post.

I'm new to a certain school this year and signed up to be on the Social Comm. (some schools call it Sunshine) There is NOT a lot of participation and I was confused and wondering WHY? Not too many people paid their dues and the ones who did pay were mostly new people to the school. Come to find out, many people REFUSE to pay because they feel their money was misused last year (again, I was not there last year). The person who was in charge last year, is still involved this year.

I really want to keep records to assure everyone exactly "where" and how their money is being spent- I think this part should be easy. It's already been started.

A few questions for my fellow PT'ers--
1. What guidelines do you follow at your school? When and how much do you spend on baby/wedding showers? Birthdays?

2. When a staff member has a death in the family, do you buy them a plant? Is it only when an immediate family member dies?

3. Do you celebrate birthdays as a group or individually?

Let me just say, being on this committee is MUCH more than I thought it would be. So many things to consider.
I thought it was about building community among the staff and creating a positive work place for ALL. I've leraned otherwise! Much more than I want to know-
Next year, I'm heading in another direction.

Do you have any tips, pointers, suggestions? Please share!

jmk242

Sunshine
Old 10-19-2008, 12:31 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

At my school each year different staff members are on the committee, you are not given any choice. This year my grade level and 4 other teachers make up the committee.

At the beginning of the year we ask for $30 from each staff member. Luckily, most participate.