Research Paper- how long? - ProTeacher Community

AlohaTeacher

Research Paper- how long?
Old 01-01-2009, 09:52 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

This is my first year in 6th and I often overestimate or underestimate their ability. What is a reasonable length for a 6th grade research paper on a narrow subject (a historical person, for example)?

AlohaTeacher is offline   Reply With Quote

wig

Old 01-02-2009, 06:13 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

This will be my 22 year of doing research reports with sixth graders. I have learned to give them very specific guidelines and always on paper. I usually hesitate giving them numbers because they focus on that, rather than the topic. Here are my guidelines for a historical person (as I recall, anyway):

Paragraph 1: A strong lead (we spend a lot of time working on leads) that includes an interesting, little known fact.

Paragraph 2: Birth, family background

Paragraph 3: Education

Paragraph 4+: What impact this person had on history and why (this could be several paragraphs.)

Next paragraph: End of his/her life

Conclusion: Summarization. No new information

I have them use a separate sheet of paper for each paragraph to take notes on. I do not allow them to write sentences unless they are writing a quote. They use bullets and skip a line between each fact. They use one source at a time. When they have finished taking notes, they go through and cross out duplicate information and then number the facts in the order they are going to use it. As they are taking notes they use one of the online bibliography sites to keep track of their sources. Internet sites have to be approved by me before they can use them (or they end up using a fifth graders online report ) They must use at least one book and one periodical in addition to any online sources they may find.