Multiple Intelligence - test for young kids? - ProTeacher Community

Home Join Now Search My Favorites
Help

Gifted Education

Multiple Intelligence - test for young kids?

>

CityGal

Multiple Intelligence - test for young kids?
Old 01-30-2009, 11:01 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

Some of the teachers at my school have asked that I look into finding a test or quiz of some sort to determine which areas students fall into, in regards to multiple intelligences.

I've had plenty of experience researching the intelligences, and have seen a multitude of tests for middle-school students and higher, but not really anything appropriate for elementary age chidlren.

Any suggestions as to where something like this might be found? I'm open to websites, books, or something an individual put together and has used successfully.

Also, an interest survey is another thing I'm looking for. I could write one, but why re-invent the wheel if someone else has had success with theirs?

Thanks in advance!

CityGal is offline   Reply With Quote

yesteach

Autonmous Learner
Old 01-30-2009, 03:11 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

Dr. Betts has a simple test in his Autonomous Learner book for K-3, you might check there. About halfway down, it's called "The Young Gifted Child and the Autonomous Learner Model"
yesteach is offline   Reply With Quote

Gwenie

posters
Old 02-08-2009, 10:10 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #3

We made posters of each intelligence and discussed them. Then, we let the kids tell us which smart they were. We listed sorts of activities under each poster that would show examples of how they like to learn.

We tried an inventory, but kids would fall under several categories or they just didn't get the questions. I found this approach works much better. I did it by paper for 3 years and have been doing this approach for 2 years. I feel that I get a better sense of where my kids are with this approach.