NWEA testing - ProTeacher Community

dabears

NWEA testing
Old 02-02-2009, 05:56 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

I am wondering how many schools are using the NWEA test in grades below second. I am a second grade teacher, we administer the test in the spring to our second graders. However, my daughter is in kindergarten (in another system) and they are giving them this test 3 times as kdg. students. I don't like the pressure my students place on themselves at 7 & 8, let alone my 5 year old. She now hates tests! I am just wondering the value of this. Any help?

dabears is offline   Reply With Quote

ICareTher4Ido

Old 02-02-2009, 06:13 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

Our school also tested kindergarteners. A fourth does not know how to use the mouse on the computer. Another fourth is just amazed with the pictures and wondering how to move the cars across the monitor as if they are in a race or thinking how cool it is to circle all the pictures on the screen until a teacher says please chose an answer. I do not think it is valid. It might work if only 3-4 took it at a time. Then the teachers can really prep them and monitor them as they work on the computer. I believe it is also taking the time to teach them how to use the mouse and how to choose one answer or even how to move the arrow to the correct spot. Many were confused and unsure of what to do so they were choosing anything. It was definitely a learning experience. This was new to all of us. I know next time what we need to do differently.
ICareTher4Ido is offline   Reply With Quote

LilMissSEI

What is this?
Old 02-02-2009, 06:25 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #3

What is NWEA testing? I haven't heard of it.

My 1st graders are tested because they are English Language Learners. They take the MEPA - Massachusetts English Proficiency Assessment. I hate giving it to them. But I try to make it fun so I think I feel more stressed about it than they do.
LilMissSEI is offline   Reply With Quote

when'srecess