Help

ARCHIVE

How to Win No Nonsense Principal Over?

>

kinderbug

How to Win No Nonsense Principal Over?
Old 02-04-2009, 02:50 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

The Principal at my school is very no-nonsense and I need to win him over. The reason is that I want good references when I try to leave and if I work at this school next year I do not want to be on his bad side. The problem is that he is very no-nonsense. He is not the type you can schmooze unless you are one of his "elite" teachers and guess what? I'm not. I am new to the school and was supposed to be somewhere else. He knows I am planning to not return next year. Lately he has seemed more and more annoyed with me. That's not good! I really need a good reference from him and I want the rest of this year to be peaceful. He is so critical of everything I do and does not seem to trust me with anything. It has been a tough year and this just makes it harder. He has been so short with me lately and at a recent meeting we had with him he has made "overt" but underhanded comments about "dealing with change", being "here for the kids",etc. These are directed at me as if he is trying to get back at me for wanting to leave.

How do I get on his good side? I don't want to bring gifts or kiss up, either. What can I do? I don't think talking to him will work....like I said he is no nonsense and he doesn't care about hurt feelings.

kinderbug is offline   Reply With Quote

GreyhoundGirl

Old 02-04-2009, 04:06 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

Ok, so I may be going out on a limb, but I think you may be looking at this wrong. If he is no-nonsense and doesn't "schmooze" then why are you trying to fit a square peg into a round hole? E-mail him if you aren't comfortable talking to him and ask straight out if you can use him as a reference. Do you need a letter of rec or a phone reference? Either way, approach it as a no-nonsense professional. Good luck!
GreyhoundGirl is offline   Reply With Quote

mom2six

Old 02-04-2009, 06:48 PM