first week of school in 1st grade - ProTeacher Community

luvkidz

first week of school in 1st grade
Old 07-27-2006, 09:30 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

Hi, I am starting my first week of school very soon! I am a first grade teacher and want some ideas on getting started. I need some activities and lesson plan ideas for the first week of school! Please help!

luvkidz is offline   Reply With Quote

mrshvo

mrshvo

Old 07-27-2006, 02:42 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

I don't have my lessons ready, but here are some things I did last year:

*played syllable games-did everyone's names in the classroom
*we have a writing program, which the kids were introduced to in Kindergarten, and I had them do circle maps on themselves, and then a circle map on somebody
*time capsuls- a paper and a paper-towel role. Kids would answer whatever was on it and draw whatever they were supposed to, and then role it up, shove it in the tube, and we didn't open them until the last day of school
*lots of practicing routines-and play acting what you shouldn't do, and then what you should do
*of course some curriculum stuff
* getting them used to each center activity so that by the time guided reading time was started, they would be acquainted to it.

If I find old lesson plans I will write some more.

Nana6

Old 07-27-2006, 07:17 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #3

I use the Kevin Henkes books for teaching appropriate behavior and discussing some of the fears first graders might have. For example, for names you can use Chrysanthemum and do all kinds of name activities. I add each child's name to the word wall and use them as beginning connections for phonics. This word cheese has the same beginning sound as Charles. etc. You can count letters in names and graph the results, How many names have five letters... Or make name banners and have children decorate their banners with things they like favorite animal, food, sport etc.