I forgot about jury duty!! - ProTeacher Community

ljones11

I forgot about jury duty!!
Old 02-15-2009, 04:22 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

PLEASE tell me you've done this before and I'm not going to be arrested! I got the summons almost 2 months ago for jury duty this past Thursday. I put it on the front counter this week so I wouldn't forget to call the night before, but...silly me! I COMPLETELY forgot about it!

I called when I got it to see if I could postpone it because I'm a teacher, but the lady on the phone recommended that I wait to see if my group was even called. She said I might be dismissed anyway because Thursdays are less busy. If my group was called, then I could postpone it. But now that I've gone and forgotten to even call, I have no idea if I was even supposed to be there! Has this ever happened to anyone else? Should I call to admit it or just wait and hope my group was dismissed anyway? Is there a huge penalty for not showing up??

bookgeek59

Old 02-15-2009, 04:34 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

I would call right away Monday and be totally honest. In some localities, failure to "check in" is grounds for there to be a warrant out for your arrest. Good luck!

MACMama

call and find out
Old 02-15-2009, 04:36 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #3

I think it varies from state to state. Call your courthouse and explain the situation. I'm sure they will be understanding, especially if you tell them that you will serve at anytime they need you. Call on Tuesday, tomorrow is a federal holiday.

tammynj

Yikes!
Old 02-15-2009, 04:38 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #4