Help

ARCHIVE

Travel Around the world theme

>

aisling311

Travel Around the world theme
Old 07-28-2006, 03:59 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

I teach a 2/3 combo, this is my first year trying a year long theme. We are going to travel around the world and visit 8-9 different countries. I have some ideas of things that I want the kids to do, but I am trying to figure out some more...I know that I want them to create maps, flags, travel brochures, menus, listen to music and look at specific art, create travel logs and choose one thing in each country to find more info about...Does anyone else have any other ideas? What else could the kids do? I am going to start with passports...but beyond this I just need some more ideas to feel settled....

aisling311 is offline   Reply With Quote

Jalon

books to use
Old 07-28-2006, 05:26 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

Two books immediately come to mind...Letters from Felix and Felix and the Flying Suitcase Adventure . (Annette Langen). Cute books about the adventures of a stuffed rabbit. You could map his adventures on a world map, etc. Have fun with your theme!
Jalon is offline   Reply With Quote

azfarkas

World Tour
Old 07-28-2006, 05:35 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #3

During my student teaching I did a world tour with the students during the last two weeks of school. Obviously because we only did it in two weeks you would have to expand on everything we did but this may give you some ideas!

On the first day of the tour we set the classroom up like an airplane (put the chairs in rows, taped up pictures of clouds-as windows, we left an aisle in the middle and put a tv at the end, we showed a movie and I pushed a cart up and down the aisle handing out popcorn).