Help

ARCHIVE

Motivating Reluctant Reader

>

IMSaved2

Motivating Reluctant Reader
Old 08-02-2006, 11:23 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

Need some suggestions on how to motivate my son who is going into 5th grade, who says he "doesn't like to read". I am a Literacy Coach and have always loved reading, so this is making me crazy. I've tried reading with him, letting him pick out books, reward stickers, etc. When asked what books interest him he says "comics, or books about animals (non-fiction)." I can't get him to focus beyond 3 minutes. On rare occassions he claims to have read a book and then can't tell you a single thing about it unless it was in a picture.

In 4th grade he would take a comprehension test without reading the paragraphs and just guess at the answers. His teacher knew this and still let him fail the tests instead of making him go back and do the reading. (I found her to be useless the entire school year).

Help! I am so frustrated as a mother and a "teacher"!

IMSaved2 is offline   Reply With Quote

thekoz

My son wasn't a reader...
Old 08-02-2006, 02:16 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

I homeschooled him for the last half of his second grade year for a multitude of reasons. One of them was the fact that he had advanced reading skills, but didn't like to read.

A huge part of our day was devoted to reading aloud. We also listened to lots of novels on tape. He was drawn to the classics, adventure stories, and science fiction. Sign of the Beaver, My Side of the Mountain series, Hatchet series, illustrated classics, Indian in the Cupboard series, Harry Potter books, Hank the Cowdog books, etc.

After he was hooked to listening to stories, I got bad. I'd start a book - read enough to get him really hooked, and then miss a couple of reading sessions because I was "too busy". "I'm so sorry sweetie, I've GOT to get these windows washed. Why don't you just take the book and read the next chapter on your own?" , it worked like a charm.