ARCHIVE

do you have themes?

>

ma-bethany

ma-bethany

do you have themes?
Old 08-03-2006, 08:34 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

does everyone do classroom themes? i haven't ever had one for my classroom. i think it's too late for me to do it for this year because i haven't thought about it. (although, if i REALLY think about it, it's not too late because i don't have to be back to school until august 28th!)....

anyways, when you do themes do you incorporate everything into your theme? for example, table team names are related to the theme? your discipline system? decorations? what else do you use your theme for? do you do the theme for the entire year and manage to keep up with it? how much extra money do you spend putting effort inot your theme? do your students buy into it? how come there are those people who don't do themes? any particular reason?

sorry for the questions! but i'm curious. i'm a second grade teacher and i'm just wondering if this is something that i should try this year, or wait until next year......

javamomma

Theme?
Old 08-03-2006, 08:50 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

Not really, I have a class mascot, a giraffe, and it is used a lot for back to school time but not all year.
javamomma is offline   Reply With Quote

bzetchr

a related tread discussion
Old 08-03-2006, 09:40 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #3

that might help you http://www.proteacher.net/discussion...ad.php?t=15025
bzetchr is offline   Reply With Quote

AlaskanCourt

It's up to you!
Old 08-03-2006, 12:37 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #4

I am doing a theme this year, but I haven't always done one. How much it encompasses is entirely up to you. I did a racing theme one year, and all it included was the welcome sign on our door, some racing tires filled with pillows in our class library, and a behavior system based on the different flags.