ARCHIVE

Reading Instruction

>

clueless

clueless

Reading Instruction
Old 08-06-2006, 06:16 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

I am so embarrased to admit this, but am so clueless when it comes to reading instruction. Here is my issue. I keep reading about how people organize their reading instruction so that the first part they teach the whole class a 'skill', then they have some of the kids work on this 'skill' during independent reading/centres while they take another group for guided reading. Now, I understand the idea of guided reading in the sense of working with a small group and providing some individualized instruction, but it is the 'skill' to the whole group that throws me. What 'skills' do you teach? How do you ensure they kids work on that 'skill' during their individual reading time and not just 'read'? How many skills do you work on in a week? Month? Perhaps that is because I am a new grade 5 teacher who just got bumped from K and am feeling a bit stressed. Now, I have bought some guided reading books to get some help from (Harvey/Goudvis, Fountas and Pinnell, but could you PLEASE give me some help???? I am drowning, here!

chalkdusty

take a deep breath...
Old 08-06-2006, 06:26 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

clueless,

It must be very stressful moving to a new grade level. I've taught the same level for 9 years. You have a right to feel nervous about this.