Help

ARCHIVE

Thanksgiving Feast

>

Mrs. R

Thanksgiving Feast
Old 11-03-2005, 01:46 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

We are planning a Thanksgiving feast this year for our three first grade classes. This is our first time doing it. We thought it would be a great addition to our community unit. It's not necessarily going to pilgrim-themed or anything. We're viewing it more as a community meal. I was wondering if anyone who has done this in the past could give me some tips/suggestions. How did you organize the food? Did you have any special toasts or readings? Are there any pitfalls we need to watch out for? Thank you!

Mrs. R is offline   Reply With Quote

TRINIGIRL78

Simple feast
Old 11-03-2005, 03:46 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

Why don't you try a Charlie Brown Thanksgiving. I am a first grade teacher as well and we are doing a simple Charlie Brown thanksgiving. While we are doing this we will be watching the movie to go along with it. All you need for it is: toast, pretzel sticks, jelly beans, popcorn and juice. I think that's all we've had in the past. Good luck with your feast.

Shelley
TRINIGIRL78 is offline   Reply With Quote

CR

simple idea
Old 11-03-2005, 04:42 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #3

In the past I have done a "Mug and Muffin" feast. We have cider, coffee, tea, and a variety of breads and muffins. (Can be made by the class if you have time, access to kitchen...) We invite "important people" to join us for a quick morning treat. Often parents can stop in for a quick cup of coffee, and we invite our bus drivers,our janitor(s), and our school principal/superintendent. It's a quick and simple way to say thanks for all they do for us! It's very informal--the kids walk around and offer food to the invited guests. (no speeches)
CR is offline   Reply With Quote

Maxie

Old 11-03-2005, 05:44 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #4