Help

ARCHIVE

Allergic

>

2grdteachr

Allergic
Old 08-13-2006, 12:21 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

Has anyone ever had a child in their class with a food allergy? I just found out that I have a little girl who is allllergic to anything with milk in it. I am new to 2nd grade and I am sure we will celebrate birthdays. How can I include the little girl, if a parent brings cupcakes or something I would hate to have her feel left out. Thanks for any advice.

2grdteachr is offline   Reply With Quote

linda2671

Food Allergies
Old 08-13-2006, 12:28 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

I've had a couple of kids with milk allergies. The moms sent snacks that their kids could have to be used when we had a birthday party. Then the rest of the kids could have the treats that the birthday child brought, and the one with milk allergies could choose something from his box. I had to work closely with the school nurse on anything that the child ate-everything was cleared through her and documented. The milk allergies aren't nearly as bad as peanut allergies. Peanut allergies tend to have more severe consequences. Just don't let the child eat anything until it's cleared through the nurse or the mom.
linda2671 is offline   Reply With Quote

TeacherLisa1st

Old 08-13-2006, 01:06 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #3

linda's right - peanut allergies are much worse. I have lactose intolerance (somewhat related to milk allergy) and while it does upset my sytem, it is not life threatening. That being said, have extra snacks (like pretzels, skittles, etc. - or whatever is on child's approved list) for special occasions in case she forgets to bring one in. Also make sure to have a talk with the class at the beginning of the year about the importance of not sharing food at lunch. Most kids with allergies are very aware of what they can and cannot eat, but I'm sure some will try to eat things they're not supposed to. Just keep an eye on things!
Also make sure to bring medicine and extra snacks on field trips.