Everyday Math tool kits - ProTeacher Community

NYshopgirl

Everyday Math tool kits
Old 06-29-2009, 11:23 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

I am new to 2nd grade and am looking through the Everyday Math curriculum. I see that in 2nd grade (maybe other grades too...) kids have a tool kit where all of their "personal" math manipulatives, etc. go into.

Does anyone have any tips for managing these? I don't want them to be so available to kids that the calculators and stuff are coming out all the time and being played with, but I also want them to be accessible enough that it's not a huge pain everytime we need 1 little thing from the tool kit to use in the lesson.

I am used to keeping all manipulatives in a community-type supply area. So, I am not sure how to proceed. any great tips? TIA!

NYshopgirl is offline   Reply With Quote

brownbear

Old 06-29-2009, 11:27 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

Our first grade team put the math kit items into plastic bags with handles (normally used for listening centers) and then hung them on a rack(normally used for listening centers).
brownbear is offline   Reply With Quote

ilovepizza

no tool kits
Old 06-29-2009, 11:28 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #3

I don't use the tool kits. I keep all the manipulatives in baskets and the kids get hem as needed. I like the kids to have as little "stuff" as possible in their desks. I have the kids get their materials and put them away during transition time before and after math. For example, I'll ask table 1 to put their templates away and join me on the rug for reading...
ilovepizza is offline   Reply With Quote

Flower Child

Math Tool Kits
Old 06-29-2009, 11:37 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #4