New 4th-6th Grade Music Teacher - ProTeacher Community

PCTeacher46

New 4th-6th Grade Music Teacher
Old 06-30-2009, 07:00 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

Hi Everyone!

First, let me just say I have really enjoyed reading all of
the past posts and learning from all of your great ideas!

I am a brand new teacher who will start my first teaching
job in the fall. My major was Music Ed, and I did my
student teaching in a PreK-4 setting. My new job is a
little complicated, but essentially I am the 4th -6th grade
Social Studies and Music teacher in a small private school.
I will see each grade for music class once per week for 45
minutes. As a Social Studies teacher I know there are all
kinds of ways I can integrate our SS curriculum with music
- composers, world music - and I am very excited about
this!

My main question involves how to structure a class for
4th-6th grade students. Like I said, my main student
teaching experience was with younger students and other
practicums were with older students (upper middle school
and high school!) I want to be sure what I am doing is not
too young or to old for these students. Any teachers of
this age group that have suggestions of what your classes
look like??

I am also open to any other suggestions you have for
getting started! Thanks so much for any advice you have!

Alicia

PCTeacher46 is offline   Reply With Quote

REB

I teach 4th-6th classroom music & Chorus...
Old 06-30-2009, 10:17 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

Hi, Alicia! Welcome to the group! I'm REB, and I teach 4th-6th grade classroom music as well as Chorus, Drum Circle and Orff Ensemble at a public school in southeast Louisiana.