New to 4th grade... need theme ideas! - ProTeacher Community

Grade4guy

New to 4th grade... need theme ideas!
Old 07-05-2009, 12:30 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

Hi all,
I am new to 4th grade this coming year and all the other 4th grade teachers have themes in their rooms and I want to come up with one too but have no idea what to do. I bought a rug yesterday and my wife suggested since it's a beige shag rug that it could be sand and I could do a beach theme....but I'm not sure...any thoughts?

Please help this newbie! (First full year in elementary!)

Thanks!

Grade4guy is offline   Reply With Quote

tammynj

Old 07-05-2009, 12:47 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

Hi, welcome to PT! You'll find lots of good ideas on here. I would suggest searching for past threads that featured "beach theme" or "Survivor" or "Island" themes. Previous posts have given details on their rooms, and some even had pictures. Also, check out all the PT boards, esp. the Busy Board and the Classroom Themes/BB board.

tammynj is offline   Reply With Quote

Tennessee

Pirate/Ocean Theme
Old 07-05-2009, 01:08 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #3

I have a bulletin board behind my reading center that takes up half of my classroom. I decided to turn it into an ocean/pirate theme. The first year I made a pirate ship out of black vinyl and had the Cat in the Hat driving the boat with a pirate patch/hat on. I also had a palm tree with a treasure chest and a parrot. The treasure chest had maps with classroom jobs on them and the student's names where on the treasure. I wrote above the bulletin board --You never know where a book will take you.