low GPA - ProTeacher Community

Hanna

Hanna

low GPA
Old 08-18-2006, 09:44 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

I am a college student and plan to major in elementary education. I can't declare my major until the end of this semester as I will be taking College Algebra which is a requirement to get into the teacher preparation program.

Anyway, another requirement to get into the teacher prep program is a 2.5 GPA which I don't have. I got some C's and D's in science and in one history class which brought my GPA down. Currently I have a 2.3 GPA.

So when I went to go see my advisor for undeclared majors she was telling me that I should reconsider majoring in elementary education and instead major in a certain subject like english which I'm strong in and then go through the alternative certification program. I always have made A's in english, but I don't want to major in it. I want to major in elementary education since I plan to be a teacher.

I realize the advisor saw that my GPA was lower than required to get into the teacher prep program. But I am taking College Algebra at a community college so that grade won't count towards my GPA, and the other classes I am taking at this university this semester are a lot easier. I'm taking 2 early childhood classes and a psychology class, all of which I've had the professors before so I know what to expect. With these professors since I've had them before I know I can get A's and B's, but the advisor told me she had her doubts.