Ideas for Teaching Communities - Rural, Urban, and Suburban - ProTeacher Community

emsmyth518

Ideas for Teaching Communities - Rural, Urban, and Suburban
Old 07-31-2009, 12:24 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

I am a second year teacher teaching second grade and looking for different ways/lessons/activities to teach the concept of communities - particularly, comparing and contasting rural, Urban and Suburban.

Your help would greatly appreciated!

emsmyth518 is offline   Reply With Quote

shiloh1220

communities
Old 07-31-2009, 01:21 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

I use pics from magazines, past travels, etc. to show examples. I put the pictures on at 3 column T-chart labeled Rural, Suburban, and Urban. Throughout the unit we recreate the chart using the pictures, then I let the children draw pictures and place on a blank chart towards the end of the unit. When I assessed they looked at the board where the chart would be and could picture it all
shiloh1220 is offline   Reply With Quote
unseen001
Old 07-31-2009, 02:48 PM
This message has been deleted by unseen001.

bookworm86

Old 07-31-2009, 02:55 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #3

Last year I did a bulls eye:
•Draw small circle. Describe the coolest and most fun city ever. Students write their name on a post-it. Students who want to live in city put their name in the middle. Point out how crowded it gets. Then, introduce suburb. Explain why they build suburbs and why some people choose to live there. If some students don’t want to live in the city and prefer somewhere quiet, introduce rural (if not wait until tomorrow’s lesson). The kids loved this lesson and it really put things in perspective for them!
•Read, “The Urban Boy, The Suburban Boy”. Add characteristics of each kind of community to a chart as you read.
•The next day read, “City Kid, Country Kid.” Record characteristics for rural community. Compare and contrast all three communities.
Hope this helps!
bookworm86 is offline   Reply With Quote

glad2bme