NEW 6th grade classroom teacher - HELP!! - ProTeacher Community

carek

NEW 6th grade classroom teacher - HELP!!
Old 08-03-2009, 06:51 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

I have been teaching for the past 2 years in a middle school setting -- math. Now, I have just accepted a new job as a classroom 6th grade teacher, teaching ALL subjects to the SAME group of students. I know how to cater to 6th graders for math, but how do I do so for all subjects?
I am absolutely overwhelmed because I have no idea where to even begin preparing for this job - how do I set up my classroom? Because it's still in the "elementary setting", would it be similar to a typical, say, k-5 classroom? How should I organize each subject? Should I require a folder for each subject for the students to keep at their desk, so that all of their handouts/etc are organized in the correct place? Is it OK to teach (esp math) having the students take notes? Or does it need to be more interactive? How can I make sure that students actually retain the information, if they're taking a more "hands on" learning approach? Is it just easiest to just treat my day as though I was teaching middle school, and split the time for each subject evenly, even though students are not moving from class to class?
I would really appreciate it if I could get some insight especially for teaching ELA. Coming from a Math background, I especially have NO idea how to incorporate the other areas of ELA (ex- spelling) into my classroom.
Since I am completely in the dark about being an all-inclusive classroom teacher, I readily welcome ANY insight/ideas (no matter how menial or insignificant) on any realm of this topic (decorating your classroom, how to set up routines, organization from subject to subject for students, how to teach ELA!!, etc). Thank you!!

carek is offline   Reply With Quote

love2learn

You will love it
Old 08-03-2009, 08:28 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #2