Help

ARCHIVE

Dyslexia

>

anm

Dyslexia
Old 08-29-2006, 11:45 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

I have a student, kindergarterner, whom myself and the mother both suspect may be dyslexic. Is it too early to diagnosis a child at 5? He turns his letters around. He tries to start reading from the right side. He has written his own name backwards, then argued with me when we were discussing were it was wrong or not. Is there really anything to worry about or mom and I just going overboard?

anm is offline   Reply With Quote

dee

too soon-
Old 08-29-2006, 11:49 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

I feel it is much too soon. I am a sped teacher, and we wouldn't even entertain this for another year or son. Very common to change letters, write backwards, etc. Children have to first be given a chance to learn.
dee is offline   Reply With Quote

kali

agree with Dee
Old 08-29-2006, 12:07 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #3

reversals are VERY VERY common with K and even some first graders who haven't done a lot of reading and writing.

Where a sentence starts and the notion of reverse sweep would be a start for this child (and lots of K students).......model it during read aloud, interactive writing, and guided reading group. Thats why he is at school, to learn that from you.

The name, numbers, and letters will come around with practice and expirence. Don't even mention the b/d reversals--still see 2nd graders doing this!

I do think it is unfair to the parent to worry about this and start putting labels lke dyslexia. This child just started K! Have mom do fun things with him, like make letters in shaving cream with his finger. Have her put to each word as she reads to him and involve him..."where should I start reading the story from? "Good try, we always start here though..take his finger and move it.
kali is offline   Reply With Quote

Socks

Too Early
Old 08-29-2006, 03:04 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #4