Teaching Main Idea to 2'nd graders - ProTeacher Community

harley

Teaching Main Idea to 2'nd graders
Old 08-05-2009, 04:39 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

My first Reading Unit is themed BEING ME and the first focus skill is Main Idea. (Trophies) Does anyone have any cute ideas or strategies on teaching this skill - something that really makes it stick? I want something I can carry over into a learning center. I am in a Reading First school. (This is my first year teaching too )

harley is offline   Reply With Quote

choppie70

Old 08-05-2009, 04:46 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

Before I even start Main Idea with my second graders. We go over categories. I break them into groups and give them a set of index cards that I have written words on. I have them sort the cards and glue onto a big piece of paper. When they are finished sorting, I have them think of a phrase that connects the words. For example I might have : apple, cake, pizza, cheese = things people eat.

We also play the category game: I name a category and they have to say something in that category, like colors.

We then move to sentences: what is this sentence about. Then to paragraphs, then to stories.

choppie70 is offline   Reply With Quote

afunteacher

Main Idea
Old 08-05-2009, 06:07 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #3

The way I've taught it before...nothing to exciting or cute, but maybe you could take the idea and tweek it a little...have them figure out who or what the paragraph is about. Then have them figure out what is special about that who or what. Then have them put the two together.
afunteacher is offline   Reply With Quote

harley

Shouldn't have put cute
Old 08-05-2009, 06:58 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #4