Help

ARCHIVE

ESL/ELL Students, what do I do??

>

MITeach

ESL/ELL Students, what do I do??
Old 08-31-2006, 06:41 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

This year I have two ESL students in my classroom. One speaks English fairly well, and has an older sister who speaks English VERY well, but their mother speaks no English. The other student has VERY limited English proficiency, and his parents speak no English. I have some knowledge of Spanish, and since our school does not have many Spanish speakers, we do not have a specified ESL instructor...so basically I will have to be an ESL teacher to these students. What things should I keep in mind in communicating effectively to parents and the students? What can I do to help make them successful this school year? Also, how can I best promote the learning of English, especially with the student who has very limited proficiency. I have the long weekend to get myself prepared for the start of the school year. I met both families last night at Open House, and I already feel poorly b/c I wasn't thinking and sent home my handbook (in English) to the student who probably will not be able to read ANY of it What can I do to help make this year an awesome year for these two?!?
Thanks in advance!! I've worked with ESL students before, but the parents always spoke some English.

These students are in 5th grade.

MITeach is offline   Reply With Quote

rockingbarbie

Rosetta Stone
Old 08-31-2006, 04:58 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

I used a computer program called Rosetta stone for my Chinese speaking 2nd grader with no English.
I labeled all the items in the room the door/ chalk/ chair. This way when you speak of them the child can see the word.
Pair them beside an overacheiver who just "loves" to help others.