welcome letter for 1st year teacher - ProTeacher Community

excitedteach

welcome letter for 1st year teacher
Old 08-09-2009, 06:21 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

Hi, I just got hired on Friday and Meet the Teacher is Tuesday! I am a first year teacher for 1st grade in a private Christian School. I am technically Alternative Certification, but the bulk of my college studies was Elementary Education. Because I was part time the requirements changed all the time and I was kept forever trying to graduate so I switched to History and got done in 2 semesters.

My question is, should I mention that this is my first year teaching? Should I just say I graduated from the University of South Florida? Any great ideas for the welcome letter? As I have limited time to prep the room (it is brand new, nothing in it yet!) and learn the curriculum this is stressful! Any little tips for a first year teacher would be greatly and sincerely appreciated.

excitedteach is offline   Reply With Quote

newtch08

leave out 1st year
Old 08-09-2009, 06:24 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

I would leave out that you're a first year teacher. I would just write where you went to school. If they ask where you were before, talk about where you did your student teaching. They'll figure it out.
newtch08 is offline   Reply With Quote

linzeek44

Old 08-09-2009, 08:23 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #3

When I wrote my "first year" letter, I did say where I graduated from and I also said what I did while I was there.

This is what it said:

I graduated from Wellesley College with a BA in American Studies: American Education concentration, as well as my teaching certification. For my four years at Wellesley, I worked with toddler and preschool classrooms at the Wellesley Community Childrenís Center, as well as with first and second grade classrooms teaching literacy and math.

Looking back on it, that last sentences is a bit super-wordy. haha.