Help! first year teacher in need of creative ways to teach sight words! - ProTeacher Community

Home Search My Favorites
Help

ARCHIVE

Help! first year teacher in need of creative ways to teach sight words!

>

chancesj

Help! first year teacher in need of creative ways to teach sight words!
Old 09-15-2009, 11:43 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

I am a first year teacher teaching Kindergarten and i am in need of some fun and effective ways to drill those sight words into my kiddos little brains. I have been "cheering and chanting them" but alot of my kids are low and I need way more than that for them to learn the words. Please let me knoww! Thanks

chancesj is offline   Reply With Quote

sevenplus

Old 09-15-2009, 01:10 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

Mostly, I point them out everywhere. We read lots and lots of little books and they all contain the sight words. Sometimes I'll have them highlight a particular word in the book.

I've done other things like play sight word BINGO, written them on each other's backs, written them with sidewalk chalk, made puzzles out of them, do flashcards, etc. But, mostly, we find them in books during the course of the day. They LOVE pointing them out.
sevenplus is online now   Reply With Quote

ladyt9903

sight words
Old 09-15-2009, 01:56 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #3

We sing them.

I got the idea from the site below. Scroll down the sight words is near the middle.

http://www.mrsjonesroom.com/songs/alphlist.html
ladyt9903 is offline   Reply With Quote

happytosub

Old 09-15-2009, 02:27 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #4

Kelly's Kindergarten has sight word games to print out.

http://www.kellyskindergarten.com/Ga...es_to_make.htm
happytosub is offline   Reply With Quote

rubyanne

Old 09-15-2009, 02:44 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #5

I do a lot with poems, emergent readers, and shared writing. I will have students dictate a sentence and then have them cut up the sentence and reorganize the sentence back together.