Motivating 5th Grade - ProTeacher Community

learn2teach22

Motivating 5th Grade
Old 09-24-2009, 03:12 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

This is my first year working in a 5th grade classroom. In other years, I have worked with second grade and younger and I'm finding it very difficult to motivate the older learners and get them interested in what we are doing. I was hoping anyone had some ideas on how to motivate 5th graders to learn while avoiding treating them like young children. I'm having particular difficulty in math. Please help!

learn2teach22 is offline   Reply With Quote

happygirl444

Old 09-26-2009, 12:55 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

Look into whole brain teaching--I bet your kids would love it. http://www.wholebrainteaching.com/ It is much more fast paced and has a call and response kind of method that even my first graders love. They have videos you can watch about it.
happygirl444 is offline   Reply With Quote

khviding

Old 09-27-2009, 12:25 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #3

I was in a fifth grade classroom last year and I definitely know where you're coming from. I always found that coming up with a great motivation was the most time consuming part of developing my lesson. I came to find that anything involving technology was a great motivator. If you have a computer hooked up to the classroom television, you could use brainpop.com to show them a video relating to the day's lesson. I think it may require a subscription, but I know some of the videos are free. My fifth graders would also become motivated if they were able to move around the classroom - so any brain-based movement activities to get their blood flowing to their brains is always a safe bet!
khviding is offline   Reply With Quote

abona

Get them out of their seats
Old 09-28-2009, 07:26 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #4